Eid Reflections

I was feeling pretty good when I wrote this one for CT…

Eid Reflections

By Eugenia Flynn

The Last Sermon of the Prophet Muhammad, may the peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, is often quoted by Muslims, with this particular passage in mind:

“All mankind is from Adam and Eve, an Arab has no superiority over a non-Arab, nor a non-Arab has any superiority over an Arab; also a white has no superiority over a black, nor a black has any superiority over white except by piety and good action.  Learn that every Muslim is the brother of another Muslim, and that Muslims constitute one brotherhood.”

I read this sermon shortly after I reverted to Islam and this particular passage filled me with hope and longing for something that Australian society could never provide for me – a framework for the eradication of racism.  As a Christian, I saw the way Christianity had spread to people of colour, to my Filipino family, to my Chinese family, mostly to my Aboriginal family.  What I did not see in the Judeo-Christian Australian society, however, was such a clearly defined faith-based goal of ensuring equality amongst the races.

Unfortunately, the reality of the Ummah was markedly different to what I was reading.  I had experiences that left with a bad taste in my mouth – the taste of ignorance and racism.  Luckily for me though, I was able to separate the Ummah from the beautiful religion that I was now calling my own.  Conversely, this meant I spent more and more time away from members of the Ummah, becoming insular and despising fellow Muslims. 

On post-Eid reflection, I realise that I have been connected with those in the Ummah that have kept me from despair of the racism and ignorance that exists amongst Muslims.  During sajdah of Eid salat, I was given the overwhelming sense of ‘coming home’ – a feeling that, once again, has filled me with hope.  I have truly been blessed this Eid. 

So as I have been given a great Eid, I wish you all a belated Happy Eid too.  May the peace and blessings of Allah be showered over you and all our Ummah, so that we may be united in our worship of Allah.  May we all ‘come home’ once again.

Leave a Reply

