Heading South – fiction piece in Peril Magazine

I was contacted by Peril Magazine to contribute a piece of fiction for their series “Like Black on Rice”, featuring Indigenous and Asian writers. I submitted this piece Heading South which is about journeying physically and emotionally.

Heading South

by Eugenia Flynn

I roll over in the bed and break my last connection to the dream world with a forceful sigh. Push all my grief away from me in that one breath out. Yukio reaches out an instinctive arm to comfort me. The dark light of dawn lets me be seen, but be hidden too. You okay? The bed dips as I push off it and sit on the edge, my back to him. I don’t tell him I dreamt of Ruby. Of how I remember her, with her long dark hair that is thick and wavy, beautiful brown skin and Asian eyes. Of how I would convince her to stay if I had the chance. I don’t even turn to face him as I speak. Yeah. Better get up and moving.

You can read the full piece here.

 

Leave a Reply

